top of page

YFCU announce winner of Ulster Young Farmer Competition

Richard Johnston from Randalstown YFC has been named as the overall winner of the Ulster Young Farmer competition.

Sponsored by Danske Bank, the Ulster Young Farmer of the Year competition is one of the most prestigious competitions in the organisation's calendar. The sponsorship and support from Danske Bank makes this competition possible and provides young people the opportunity to show off their professional skills in the Agricultural Sector.

YFCU would also like to take this opportunity to thank all our friends in the Agri Business Sector for judging and assisting at the various stages at the Ulster Young Farmer competition.

After qualifying through two preliminary rounds, Richard Johnston made it through to the final, which took place in Glarryford YFC Hall Co. Antrim.

Commenting after winning the competition Richard Johnston said: “I'm delighted to be named overall winner of Ulster Young Farmer . The Ulster Young Farmer Competition has tested my knowledge over a broad spectrum in the Agriculture industry. I thoroughly enjoyed all aspects of the competition and I would like to thank all the judges for making the competition possible.”

Overall second place in the Ulster Young Farmer competition was awarded to Mitchell Park, Glarryford YFC and third place was awarded to Judith Laughlin, Kilrea YFC.

The Ulster Young Farmer (UYF) competition also recognises the best overall junior, best under 21 and best 25-30 YFCU member.

The Junior Ulster Young Farmer award was presented to Lois McCurdy, Moycraig YFC. Lois is an active member of Moycraig YFC for 5 years and now currently holds the position of Assistant PRO. Lois really enjoys sports and taking part in competitions such as tag rugby and girls football. One of her best memories so far in the YFCU was taking part in Moycraig’s 1-act play, and performing to an audience.

To win the title of Junior UYF Lois was required to undertake a short multi-answer paper. From this Lois was announced as one of the top three junior members in their club and progressed to stage two of the competition. At this point Lois then undertook a second detailed multi-answer paper and having successfully completed this stage she progressed to the interview stage. At interviews judges seek to assess junior members on four categories: livestock, farm safety, countryside management and a general category. After judges reviewed Lois's performance in line with the scoring criteria from the three competition stages she emerged as Junior UYF winner. Congratulations Lois.

Ulster Young Farmer of the Year best under 21

Joshua McClements, Ballywalter YFC took the top spot in the Under 21 category and is awarded the Golden Plough Trophy. Joshua is an active member of Ballywater YFC and is always eager to get involved in YFCU events and activities.

In order to gain this title Joshua completed a series of competition stages including, a short multi-answer paper, a detailed multi-answer paper and a panel interview evaluated by a number of judges. At interview senior members are assessed on 11 topic areas including; farm safety, arable, innovation and various livestock groups.

The best under 21 member is then determined using a scoring framework which takes each competition stage into consideration.

A big well done to Joshua on winning the best under 21 category.

Ulster Young Farmer of the year best 25-30 year old

Taking the top spot in this category and winning the Roberta Simmons shield was Jack Johnston. Jack is an active member of Randalstown YFC. Jack is currently club leader of Randalstown, vice chair of County Antrim and on AERA committee. He has held various positions within YFCU.

In order to gain this title Jack was required to go one step beyond the multi-answer papers and interview. Entrants to the 25-30 age category were required to deliver a presentation on a pre-seen task to a panel of judges.

This tested Jack's presentation skills alongside his knowledge of the given topic.

Congratulations to Jack on winning the 25-30 age group following his successful completion of all competition stages.

Photo caption: Thank you to Platinum Sponsor Danske Bank representative Seamus McCormick and the judges, Claire Windrum, John Henning, David Dunlop, Christine Chambers, , David Lowe, Robin Bolton, George Reid, Liz Donnelly, Stephen McCollum, Jacob Irwin, Dr Annika Clements and Tom Topping

Photo caption: Winners(From left to right) - Richard Johnston from Randalstown YFC. Jack Johnston from Randalstown YFC and Lois McCurdy from Moycraig YFC. Not in picture - Joshua McClements from Ballywalter YFC

145 views0 comments


bottom of page