What we do » Presidential Team

Martyn Blair, President YFCU

Martyn Blair belongs to Finvoy YFC and he has been a member for 15 years. Martyn has been involved in all aspects of YFCU events and activities and particularly enjoys the arts and drama productions. He has been instrumental in developing and promoting the YFCU's Rural Road Safety campaign. At the 2008 AGM, Martyn was elected on as Vice President. He served as Deputy President from 2011-2013 and supported William Wilson during his Presidential term.

A farmer by trade, Martyn’s other interests include football, rugby and socialising with friends.
Martyn's theme for 2014-2015 is "Know your Neighbour" which is all about getting to know and helping your neighbouring clubs.

Follow Martyn on Twitter via his account, @YFCUPresident.

Deputy President, Roberta Simmons

Roberta Simmons has been a member of Rathfriland YFC for 14 years. During her membership, Roberta has taken part in a wide range of YFCU activities and competitions and she particularly enjoys the three acts plays and annual arts festival. Roberta was elected Vice President in 2011 and was chair of the Development Committee from 2010-2011. 

Roberta works in a legal practice and in her new role as Deputy President she is keen to help further develop YFCU for future generations to enjoy.

Vice President James Speers

James Speers has been a member of Collone YFC since 1999. He joined the Executive Committee at the 2012 AGM and was elected on as Vice President in 2013. James represented YFCU at the RDP European Conference in Dublin in 2013 and will be a member of the 2013 European Rally team to Tipperary.

James works as a beef and sheep farmer and is also a Certification Officer with LMC. In his spare time away from YFC, James enjoys football, rugby, travelling and socialising with friends.

Vice President Janette Stirling

Janette Stirling has been a member of Glarryford YFC for 18 years. She has served many positions in her club and County committees and enjoys encouraging fellow members to take part in all YFCU competitions that are offered. Janette was elected onto the Executive Committee in 2009 and became a Vice President in April 2013.

Janette works as an Insurance Advisor with NFU Mutual and is a leader in the Girls’ Brigade. She is also an executive committee member of County Antrim Agricultural Association.

Vice President Andrew Little 

Andrew Little has been a member of Lisbellaw YFC since 2009.  Andrew has held many office positions including Co Fermanagh Chairman, Lisbellaw YFC secretary, assistant club leader, Co Fermanagh exchange coordinator and Lisbellaw YFC committee member.  In addition to becoming a YFCU vice president at this year's AGM, Andrew was also announced at the YFCU Member of the Year.  Andrew works full time as a farmer in Co Fermanagh.







Vice President Geoff Thompson

Geoff Thompson has been a member of Annaclone & Magherally YFC since 2000. During his membership, Geoff has participated in many of the competitions that the YFCU has to offer, particularly enjoying Tag Rugby, Group Debating, and the Arts Festival competitions. Now that he is out of competition age, Geoff intends to give back some of what the YFCU has given him through serving on the Presidential Team. He was elected as Vice President at the 2013 AGM. 

A recent graduate from Queens University, Geoff is currently working as a Trainee Commercial Manager with Cefetra Ltd, while completing his PhD. In his leisure time, he enjoys playing rugby for Banbridge RFC.

Share this page:

Back to Top